MHS Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

MHS Students Named National Merit Semifinalists
Posted on 09/13/2018
28 MHS Students Named National Merit SemifinalistsTwenty-eight Mason High School students have been named National Merit Semifinalists through the sixty-fourth annual National Merit Scholarship Competition for 2019.
Kara Alexander, Andrew Carter, Dalton Craven, Megan Cui, Emily Fang, Amanda Harper, Jennifer Hong, Jacob Kandell, Praneeth Kanna, Ji Seok Kim, Allyson Kouche, Anagh Kulkarni, Daniel Li, Richard Liu, Ian Logan, Andrew McKee, Rishi Mishra, Hannah Parsons, Kaavya Ramachandhran, Scott Shepherd, Kevin Song, Pranav Viswanathan, Eric Xu, Allen Yang, Juliana Zacher, Jason Zhang, Jennifer Zhu, and Kevin Zhu are all National Merit Semifinalists. They are among the approximate 16,000 of the nation's top students, less than one percent of high school seniors nationally, who will go on to compete for the prestigious National Merit Scholarships. In February 2019, the Semifinalists will be notified whether they have advanced to Finalist standing. Corporate, college, and National Merit scholarships will then be awarded to finalists between April and July 2019.
MHS Principal Bobby Dodd congratulated the students on their accomplishment. “We are so very proud of these bright students' accomplishments, and join their families, educators, and community in celebrating this important achievement that will open additional doors for them in the future."
The students will be recognized by the Board of Education on October 23.
The National Merit Scholarship Program is a prestigious academic competition for recognition and scholarship that began in 1955.  High school students enter the National Merit Program as juniors by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test --a test which serves as an initial screen of more than 1.5 million entrants each year -- and by meeting additional program requirements.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.