10 MMS Students Win Prestigious Scholastics Art Awards

10 MMS Students Win Prestigious Scholastics Art Awards
10 MMS Students Win Prestigious Scholastics Art Awards
Mason Middle School visual artists Sankalp Agrawal, Gabriella Janis, Isabella Katchanov, Honoka Kobayshi, Devansh Maladkar, Jorja Meere, Ayushe Nagpal, Hannah Scholes, Tessa Zecchino and Lisa Zhou earned top awards in the regional Scholastic Art & Writing competition.  
Katchanov and Zhou each received a Gold Key Award for their detailed expressive drawings that highlight their strong technical drawing abilities. 

“The Gold Key Award is the highest level of achievement that a student can be awarded with at the regional level.  As Gold Key Award winners this year, Isabella’s and Lisa’s outstanding works will also be considered for national-level recognition during the national competition in New York City!” said their MMS art educator Rita Shriver-Schehr.

The work of seventh graders Agrawal, Janis, Scholes and Zecchino as well as eighth grader Nagpal captured the attention of the judges this year with their unique creations.  Each of these exceptional young artists were honored with a Silver Key Award.  

The success at this year’s competition continued with entries from Kobayashi, Maladkar and Meere who all earned their first Honorable Mention Award.  
All of these MMS artists will be honored for their outstanding accomplishments during an awards ceremony on January 27 at the School for the Creative and Performing Arts in Cincinnati.  Their works can be viewed at the 2017 Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition.  This exhibit will be on display from January 20 through February 3 at the Art Academy of Cincinnati.  This very competitive show encompasses work from grades 7-12.

About the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards
The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are the longest-running, most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in the U.S., and the nation’s largest source of scholarships for creative young artists and writers. A noteworthy roster of past winners includes Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Robert Redford, Joyce Carol Oates, Stephen King and John Updike.  
Last year, students submitted 300,000 works of art and writing to the Awards; more than 68,000 were recognized at the regional level and celebrated in local exhibitions and ceremonies. The top 2,000 works in the country earned National Medals and were celebrated at a ceremony at Carnegie Hall.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.